Mark Day School
39 Trellis Drive
San Rafael, CA 94903

Board of Trustees

Mark Day School, like most independent schools, is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board consists of 22 members, nominated and elected by its membership. No member represents any particular constituency, but rather the institution as a whole. Board members are elected to serve based on their commitment to the school and the expertise they bring to the Board.

The Board is the guardian of the school's mission. It is the Board's responsibility to ensure that the mission is relevant and vital to the community it serves and to monitor the success of the school in fulfilling its mission.

The following principles of good practice are set forth by the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) to provide a common perspective on the responsibilities of independent school boards. The Board and the Head of School work in partnership fulfilling these principles.

Principles of Good Practice:

  1. The Board adopts a clear statement of the school's mission, vision, and strategic goals and establishes policies and plans consistent with this statement.
  2. The Board reviews and maintains appropriate bylaws that conform to legal requirements, including duties of loyalty, obedience, and care.
  3. The Board assures that the school and the Board operate in compliance with applicable laws and regulations, minimizing exposure to legal action.
  4. The Board accepts accountability for both the financial stability and the financial future of the institution, engaging in strategic financial planning, assuming primary responsibility for the preservation of capital assets and endowments, overseeing operating budgets, and participating actively in fundraising.
  5. The Board selects, supports, nurtures, evaluates, and sets an appropriate compensation for the Head of School.
  6. The Board recognizes that its primary work and focus are long-range and strategic.
  7. The Board undertakes formal strategic planning on a periodic basis, sets annual goals related to the plan, and conducts annual written evaluations for the school, the Head of School, and the Board itself.
  8. The Board keeps full and accurate records of its meetings, committees, and policies and communicates its decisions widely, while keeping its deliberations confidential.
  9. Board composition reflects the strategic expertise, resources, and perspectives (past, present, future) needed to achieve the mission and strategic objectives of the school.
  10. The Board works to ensure all its members are actively involved in the work of the Board and its committees.
  11. As leader of the school community, the Board engages proactively with the Head of School in cultivating and maintaining good relations with school constituents as well as the broader community and exhibits best practices relevant to equity and justice.
  12. The Board is committed to a program of professional development that includes annual new trustee orientation, ongoing trustee education and evaluation, and Board leadership succession planning.

2021-2022 Board Members

Ethan Dornhelm, President
Julian Allen, Treasurer
Lindsay Bartsh
Sharina Belani
Ryan Brown
Silvia Buckley, Faculty Trustee
Prathap Dendi
Sara Egide
Pam Emo, PA President
Scott Faber
Aimee Foreman, Vice President
Alexander Fraser
Rika Gopinath
Reetika Grewal
Joe Harvey, Head of School
Chelsea Ialeggio, Assistant Treasurer
Andrew Kawahara
Scott Lamson '06, Alumni Trustee
Megan Mariani
Chris Mazzola
Ashley Ransom, Trustee Emerita
David Shapiro